Note: These reports are made available to the public for research and educational purposes only: they must not be used for other purposes. Some of these reports are more than 20 years old, and could contain some information that is not up to date. To read the executive summary or to download the complete report in PDF format, simply click on the proper link.


NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY FLOOR/CEILING ASSEMBLIES IN WOOD CONSTRUCTION
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, February 1989, Revised April 1990.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of the National Research Council of Canada, on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of this research was to determine the acoustical performance of various types of ceiling materials and installations and of several sound absorptive materials used to build floor/ceiling assemblies in wood construction; the report is available in both French and English.

                                            



SOUND TRANSMISSION THROUGH WOOD JOIST FLOOR/CEILING SYSTEMS: A STUDY OF THE EFFECTS OF SOUND ABSORBING MATERIALS AND CHANGES TO THE CEILING STRUCTURE
A.C.C Warnock (National Research Council Canada, Ottawa, Ontario) and M.J.Morin (MJM Acoustical Consultants inc., Montreal, Quebec), Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Volume 88 - Issue S1, P.S134 (1990)

During a study funded by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, undertaken by MJM Acoustical Consultants*, a wood joist floor system was constructed in the Acoustical Laboratory at NRC. Measurements of airborne and impact sound transmission were made for different types and amounts of sound absorbing material in the cavity. Differences between materials were small. Different makes of resilient metal channels were installed; all gave about the same results. Methods of improving an unsatisfactory floor were examined. Over 20 floor systems were measured. Measurements were made down to 63 Hz and revealed that in many cases there are resonances occurring below 125 Hz that have a strong influence on transmission loss values at and above 125 Hz. While the causes of the resonances are not always clear, measurements to these low frequencies give a clearer picture of the effect of changes due to the structure. This article gives a summary of the results obtained; it is available only in English.

*Noise Isolation Provided by Floor/Ceiling Assemblies in Wood Construction, MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, Feb. 1989, Revised April 1990

                                     



PLUMBING NOISE IN MULTI-DWELLING BUILDINGS
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, September 1990.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of the National Research Council of Canada, on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of this research was to determine the acoustical performance of various pipes and plumbing installations; the report is available in both French and English.

                                           



REDUCTION OF PLUMBING NOISE IN LIGHTWEIGHT CONSTRUCTION
A.C.C Warnock (National Research Council Canada, Ottawa, Ontario) and M.J.Morin (MJM Acoustical Consultants inc., Montreal, Quebec), Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Volume 88 - Issue S1, P.S135 (1990)

Noise from plumbing fixtures can be a source of great annoyance in single-family and multi-family homes. Noise-control articles and textbooks usually recommend the use of resilient supports for pipes and other fixtures as a means of controlling noise. A study funded by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation and undertaken by MJM Acoustical Consultants* at NRC examined the changes in noise level produced by different types of pipes, different methods of mounting pipes, different wall types, and the addition of sound absorbing materials in walls. Noise sources used included an ISO standard plumbing noise source, a toilet, a sink, and five common bathroom faucets. Closed cell rubber foam supports were found to be the most effective of the resilient materials tested, providing reductions in A-weighted noise levels around 20 dB. This article gives a summary of the results obtained; it is available only in English.

*Plumbing Noise in Multi-Dwelling Buildings, MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, Sept. 1990

                                  



RESEARCH PROJECT TO PROPOSE AND VALIDATE A METHOD TO MEASURE THE SOUND POWER LEVELS GENERATED BY FANS IN FIELD CONDITIONS
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, September 1991.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of the National Research Council of Canada, on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. This project was a first attempt to validate a procedure using intensimetry to field measure the noise generated by fans; the report is available only in English.

                                           



NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY ACCESS DOORS IN MULTI-DWELLING BUILDINGS
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, February 1993.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of Concordia University, on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of this research was to test the acoustical performance of various types of doors and sound gaskets; the report is available only in English.

                                           



RÉDUCTION DU BRUIT PRODUIT PAR LES PORTES DE GARAGE
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, June 1994.

A research project conducted in field conditions, on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of this research was to determine the efficiency of different economical noise and vibration control devices which can be incoporated to garage doors to silence their operation. An executive summary was produced by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation in both French and English. The research report is available only in French.

             



QUALIFICATION DU DEGRÉ DE CONFORT ACOUSTIQUE PROCURÉ PAR LES IMMEUBLES MULTILOGEMENTS - PHASE I
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, July 1996.

A research project subsidized by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of the first phase of this research was to set forth noise control criteria and to develop a procedure for evaluating the degree of acoustic comfort provided in multi-family structures. The executive summary is available in English but the full report of this research is available only in French.

                                   

 

QUALIFICATION OF THE DEGREE OF ACOUSTIC COMFORT PROVIDED BY MULTI-DWELLING BUILDINGS - PHASE II
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, December 2002.

A research project subsidized by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. In Phase ll of this research, the noise isolation criteria set forth during Phase l are validated using on site measurements, and a procedure for evaluating the degree of acoustic comfort provided in units in multi-family structures is proposed; the report is available in both French and English. During the English translation in 2012, its content has been revised.

                                         

 

NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY WINDOWS IN RESIDENTIAL PROJECTS
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, March 1997.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of the Domtar Research Center on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of this research was to test the acoustical performance provided by various types of fixed and operable windows in residential projects; the report is available in both French and English.

                                            



NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY EXTERIOR WALLS IN WOOD CONSTRUCTION
MJM Acoustical Consultants Inc., Montreal, October 1998.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of the Domtar Research Center on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. The objective of this research was to determine the sound attenuation properties of the most popular exterior walls in low and medium cost residential wood constructions in Canada; the report is available only in English.

                                          



NOISE PRODUCED BY DWV PIPES MADE OF CAST IRON, PVC AND ABS
MJM Acoustical Consultants inc., Montreal, July 2001.

A research project conducted in the acoustical laboratory of the Domtar Research Center on behalf of the Cast Iron and Soil Pipe Association. The objective of this research was to characterize and compare the noise produced by water flowing inside DWV pipes made of CAST IRON, ABS and PVC pipes. All the tests were conducted in the same experimental conditions which allows to directly compare the acoustical performance of the different pipes tested.  An executive summary was produced by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation in both French and English. The research report is available only in English.

                                            



NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY GYPSUM BOARD PARTITIONS
MJM Acoustical Consultants inc., Montreal, January 2002.

MJM was commissioned by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation to analyze and compare the results of over 350 sound transmission loss tests conducted on a wide variety of partitions constructed with gypsum board, tested in the acoustical laboratories of the National Research Council of Canada. The results of these measurements were first published in IRC internal reports no IRC-IR-693 and no 761.  The research report produced by MJM ACOUSTICAL CONSULTANTS INC. is available in both French and English.

                                            



ASSESSING THE FIELD IMPACT SOUND INSULATION PROVIDED BY FLOOR COVERINGS IN CONCRETE CONDOMINIUM BUILDINGS
Michel Morin, MJM Acoustical Consultants inc., Journal of the Canadian Acoustical Association, June 2009, Volume 37 - Number 2, P.21 to 24

Several regulations and co-property acts allow condominium owners to install hard floor coverings provided that a minimum impact sound isolation rating is achieved. Many construction professionnls recommend such surfaces based on tests performed using the procedures described in ASTM E 492 or ASTM E 1007. During the present study, thirty-five bare concrete slabs with thicknesses ranging from 200 to 250 mm (8 to 10 in.) were randomly tested in different buildings in Montreal using the procedures outlined in ASTM E 1007. The large variations noted in the measured NISPLs and FIIC ratings suggest that the results of tests made in strict conformance with ASTM E 1007 are anecdotal and cannot be used by acousticians and construction professionals to predict the impact noise isolation provided by a floor covering installed on a "typical" 200 mm (8 in.) to 250 mm (10 in.) thick concrete slab. This paper presents the results of these measurements and proposes a statistical approach to predict the probability that a floor installed on a typical 200 to 250 mm thick concrete slab will achieve the noise isolation target set forth in the regulation, or in the co-property act (usually FIIC 55 in Canada and FIIC 50 in USA).

                                       


ÉTUDE DE CAS: AMÉLIORATION DE LA PERFORMANCE ACOUSTIQUE D'UNE CLOISON INTERLOGEMENTS EXISTANTE
MJM Acoustical Consultants inc., Montreal, 2007.

In this case study subsidized by CMHC, the author describes several construction techniques and materials used in an attempt to improve the sound isolation provided by an interdwelling partition. Some interventions were made with specialized "acoustical" materials. This case study demonstrates that the use of such "acoustical" materials does not necessarily provide better results,and that one can improve the sound isolation provided by a partition using standard material and simple construction techniques. Also discussed in this article is a simple method to improve the sound isolation provided by a floor/ceiling assembly in wood construction based on the results of tests conducted during a research project subsidized by the CMHC, which was undertaken by MJM ACOUSTICAL CONSULTANTS INC. in the acoustical laboratory of the NRC. This article is available only in French.

Note: Les rapports de recherche qui apparaissent ci-dessous ont été mis à la disposition des visiteurs du site à des fins pédagogiques et de recherche uniquement et ils ne doivent pas être utilisés à d'autres fins. Certains de ces rapports ont été produits il y a plus de 20 ans et pourraient contenir des informations qui ne sont pas à jour. Pour lire le résumé de chaque rapport de recherche ou pour télécharger le rapport complet en format pdf, il suffit d'appuyer sur le bouton approprié.


ISOLEMENT ACOUSTIQUE PROCURÉ PAR DES ASSEMBLAGES PLANCHER/PLAFOND DANS LES CONSTRUCTIONS À OSSATURE DE BOIS
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Février 1989, révisé Avril 1990.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, effectué dans les laboratoires du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada sous la direction et la supervision de MJM. Le sujet de l'étude est la performance acoustique de divers modes d'installation de plafond et types d'absorbants phoniques utilisés lors de la construction d'assemblages plancher/plafond dans les édifices multi-logements à structure de bois. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en français et en anglais.

                                                       


SOUND TRANSMISSION THROUGH WOOD JOIST FLOOR/CEILING SYSTEMS: A STUDY OF THE EFFECTS OF SOUND ABSORBING MATERIALS AND CHANGES TO THE CEILING STRUCTURE
A.C.C Warnock (Conseil National de Recherches du Canada, Ottawa, Ontario) et M.J. Morin (MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Québec) Publié dans le Journal de l'Acoustical Society of America, Volume 88 - Numéro S1, PS134 (1990)

Dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL), conduit par MJM CONSEILLERS EN ACOUSTIQUE aux laboratoires du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada (CNRC), on a construit un assemblage plancher/plafond dont on a fait varier le type et l'épaisseur d'absorbant phonique dans la cavité, ainsi que la composition et le mode d'installation du plafond en gypse. En tout, on a mesuré l'affaiblissement sonore procuré par plus de 20 combinaisons différentes d'absorbtion phonique, de modes de fixations et de compositions de plafond. Ces mesures ont été effectuées pour les bandes de tiers d'octave allant de 63 à 5000 Hz. Les résultats obtenus dans les bandes de 63, 80 et 100 Hz ont fait ressortir la présence de résonances qui influencent les affaiblissements sonores obtenus pour les fréquences de 125 Hz et plus. Bien que la cause exacte de ces résonances ne soit pas clairement établie, elles permettent de jeter un éclairage nouveau sur l'influence de la structure sur la performance insonorisante d'un assemblage placher/plafond. Cette article est disponible en anglais seulement.

                       


BRUITS DE PLOMBERIE DANS LES ÉDIFICES À LOGEMENTS MULTIPLES
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Septembre 1990.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, effectué dans les laboratoires du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada sous la direction et la supervision de MJM. Le but du projet était de déterminer la performance acoustique de divers types de conduites et d'appareils de plomberie. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en français et en anglais.

                                                       


REDUCTION OF PLUMBING NOISE IN LIGHTWEIGHT CONSTRUCTION
A.C.C Warnock (Conseil National de Recherches du Canada, Ottawa, Ontario) et M.J. Morin (MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Québec) Publié dans le Journal de l'Acoustical Society of America, Volume 88 - Numéro S1, PS135 (1990)

Le bruit produit par la plomberie peut être source de gêne pour plusieurs occupants d'habitations unifamiliales ou édifice multi-logements. La plupart des livres et articles sur le sujet recommandent généralement l'usage de supports et d'attaches résilientes lors de l'installation des conduites et appareils de plomberie afin d'en réduire le bruit. Une étude menée par MJM CONSEILLERS EN ACOUSTIQUE dans les laboratoires du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada (CNRC), et subventionnée par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) a permis de déterminer l'influence, sur le bruit de plomberie émis, de divers facteurs tels que le mode d'installation des conduites, la composition des cloisons qui les contiennent et la présence d'absorption dans la cavité de ces cloisons. L'étude a été réalisée pour divers types et différents diamètres de conduites de plomberie, en utilisant comme source de bruit cinq robinets, la chasse d'eau d'une toilette, la vidange d'un évier, ainsi qu'une source normalisée (ISO). L'utilisation de douilles d'isolant préformé pour conduites de plomberie en néoprène à cellules fermées pour ancrer les conduites à la structure des cloisons s'est avérée la technique de réduction du bruit de plomberie la plus efficace avec une atténuation de l'ordre de 20 dBA. Cet article résume les essais effectués et les résultats obtenus. Cette article est disponible en anglais seulement.

                                                       


RESEARCH PROJECT TO PROPOSE AND VALIDATE A METHOD TO MEASURE THE SOUND POWER LEVELS GENERATED BY FANS IN FIELD CONDITIONS
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Septembre 1991.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, effectué dans les laboratoires du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada sous la direction et la supervision de MJM. Le projet constitue une première étape pour valider une nouvelle procédure de mesures "in situ" du bruit produit par les ventilateurs. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en anglais seulement.

                                                       


NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY ACCESS DOORS IN MULTI-DWELLING BUILDINGS
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Février 1993.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, effectué dans le laboratoire acoustique de l'Université de Concordia sous la direction et la supervision de MJM. Le but du projet était de déterminer l'efficacité acoustique de plusieurs portes et coupe-sons. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en anglais seulement.

                                                       

 

RÉDUCTION DU BRUIT PRODUIT PAR LES PORTES DE GARAGE
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Juin 1994.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la SCHL, effectué dans des conditions réelles. Le but du projet était de déterminer l'efficacité de certains dispositifs anti-bruit et anti-vibration peu coûteux que l'on peut incorporer aux portes de garage installées dans les structures de bois et de béton. Un résumé de ce rapport de recherche a été preparé par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logements en français et en anglais; pour lire ce résumé, il suffit de cliquer sur le bouton Résumé. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en français seulement.

                       


QUALIFICATION DU DEGRÉ DE CONFORT ACOUSTIQUE PROCURÉ PAR LES IMMEUBLES MULTILOGEMENTS - PHASE I
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., juillet 1996.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement. Le projet constitue la première phase de la mise au point d'une méthode d'évaluation du degré de confort acoustique procuré par les unités d'habitation des édifices à logements multiples. Les conclusions de cette étude ont fait l'objet d'une présentation à l'événement Contech 99 (Palais des congrès de Montréal le 2 novembre 1999, et de Québec le 17 novembre 1999). Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en français seulement.

                                                      


QUALIFICATION DU DEGRÉ DE CONFORT ACOUSTIQUE PROCURÉ PAR LES IMMEUBLES MULTILOGEMENTS - PHASE II
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., decembre 2002.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement. Au cours de la seconde phase de l'étude on tente de valider les divers objectifs d'isolation sonore enoncés dans la Phase I en les comparant aux resultats de mesures effectuées dans des conditions réelles. Ce rapport a été révisé et mis à jour lors de sa récente traduction en anglais. La version anglaise est celle qui est présentement disponible. La version française révisée sera bientôt mise en ligne sur ce site.

                                                     



ISOLATION SONORE PROCURÉE PAR LES FENÊTRES DES PROJETS RÉSIDENTIELS
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Mars 1997.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, effectué dans le laboratoire acoustique du Centre Innovation Domtar. Le but du projet était de déterminer la performance acoustique de divers types de vitrages fixes et de fenêtres opérables utilisés dans des projets résidentiels. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en français et en anglais.

                                                    


NOISE ISOLATION PROVIDED BY EXTERIOR WALLS IN WOOD CONSTRUCTION
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, Octobre 1998.

Projet de recherche subventionné par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, effectué dans le laboratoire acoustique du Centre Innovation Domtar. Le but du projet était de fournir des données fiables sur l'affaiblissement sonore que procurent les types de constructions de murs extérieurs qui sont présentement les plus utilisés au Canada dans la construction résidentielle à ossature de bois. Le rapport de cette étude est disponible en anglais seulement.

                                                   


NOISE PRODUCED BY DWV PIPES MADE OF CAST IRON, PVC AND ABS
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique Inc., Montréal, juillet 2001.

Projet de recherche effectué au laboratoire acoustique du Centre Innovation Domtar pour le compte de la Cast Iron Soil Pipe Association. L'objectif du projet de recherche était de caractériser objectivement le bruit produit par l'écoulement de l'eau dans des drains et tuyaux d'égoûts faits de fonte, de PVC et d'ABS. Tous les essais ont été effectués dans les mêmes conditions ce qui permet de comparer directement les performances acoustiques des différents tuyaux testés. Un résumé de ce rapport de recherche a été preparé par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logements; pour lire ce résumé, il suffit de cliquer sur le bouton Résumé.

                                                 


ISOLATION PHONIQUE PROCURÉE PAR LES CLOISONS DE GYPSE
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, janvier 2002.

Étude commandée et subventionnée par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement. Dans le rapport d'étude, on analyse et compare les résultats de plus de 350 essais d'affaiblissement sonore effectués sur autant d'échantillons de cloisons construites à l'aide de planches de gypse. Tous les essais ont été effectués dans les laboratoires d'acoustique du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada et les résultats de ces essais ont été d'abord publiés dans 2 rapports internes de l'Institut de Recherche en Construction du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada portant les no IRC-IR-693 et no 761. La publication produite par MJM CONSEILLERS EN ACOUSTIQUE INC. à partir des résultats publiés par l'IRC est disponible en français et en anglais.

                                                 


ASSESSING THE FIELD IMPACT SOUND INSULATION PROVIDED BY FLOOR COVERINGS IN CONCRETE CONDOMINIUM BUILDINGS**
Michel Morin, MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., article, Publié dans le Journal de l'Association Canadienne de l'Acoustique, Volume 37 - Numéro 2, P.21 à 24

Plusieurs textes de loi ou actes de copropriété d'édifices de condominiums réglementent l'installation des surfaces de plancher dures dans les logements en spécifiant le degré d'isolation des bruits d'impact que doivent fournir ces revêtements. Les professionnels de la construction et les acousticiens qui sont mandatés pour recommander les modes d'installation les plus susceptibles d'atteindre les indices d'isolation des bruits d'impact visés se basent le plus souvent sur les résultats d'essais effectués conformément aux normes ASTM E 492 et E 1007. Au cours de la présente étude, des essais d'isolation des bruits d'impact ont été effectués sur trente-cinq dalles de béton sans revêtement de plancher choisies au hasard dans différents édifices de Montréal, en suivant les prescriptions de la norme ASTM E 1007. Les variations importantes notées dans les NISPLs et les indices de transmission des bruits d'impact FIIC suggèrent que les résultats d'essais effectués selon l'ASTM E 1007 sur des revêtements de plancher installés sur une dalle de béton de 200 à 250 mm (8 à 10 po) d'épaisseur, sont anecdotiques et qu'ils ne sont d'aucune utilité pour prédire l'isolation des bruits d'impact que procurera un revêtement de plancher installé sur une dalle de béton typique de 200 mm (8 po) à 250 mm (10 po) d'épaisseur. Cet article présente les résultats des essais d'isolation des bruits d'impact effectués et propose une approche statistique pour prédire le pourcentage de probabilité qu'a un revêtement de plancher d'atteindre l'objectif d'isolation des bruits d'impact imposé par la réglementation ou l'acte de copropriété de l'immeuble (en général FIIC 55 au Canada ou FIIC 50 aux États-Unis). Cet article est disponible en anglais seulement.

                                          


ÉTUDE DE CAS: AMÉLIORATION DE LA PERFORMANCE ACOUSTIQUE D'UNE CLOISON INTERLOGEMENTS EXISTANTE
MJM Conseillers en Acoustique inc., Montréal, 2007.

Cette étude de cas subventionnée par la SCHL relate diverses interventions sur une cloison interlogements pour en augmenter l'isolement phonique. Dans certaines de ces interventions on a fait appel à des matériaux acoustiques spécialisés. L'étude de cas fait la démonstration que l'utilisation de matériaux spécialisés n'est pas nécessairement avantageuse et qu'on peut très bien améliorer le rendement acoustique d'une cloison à l'aide de méthodes de construction simples faisant appel à des matériaux standards. On décrit aussi, à l'intérieur du même article, une façon simple d'améliorer l'isolement phonique d'un assemblage placher/plafond à ossature de bois, développée à partir des résultats de tests effectués lors d'un projet de recherche précédent effectué par MJM CONSEILLERS EN ACOUSTIQUE pour le compte de la SCHL, aux laboratoires du CNRC. Cet article est disponible en français seulement.