Who we are

MJM ACOUSTICAL CONSULTANTS INC. is an acoustical consulting firm practicing in Montreal since 1984. Its founder and principal consultant, architect Michel Morin brings over 38 years of experience as a consultant in acoustics and noise control in the private sector. In December 2016, Mr. Nicolas Lévêque, P.Eng , who had been with the firm since 2008, became President and sole owner of MJM and will ensure its continuity for years to come.

MJM is known for the number and variety of projects in which it has participated, for the research projects in acoustics and noise control that it has undertaken and whose reports have been distributed worldwide, as well as for the technical support it delivers to industries wishing to improve the acoustical performance of their products.

MJM has developed many software applications for acoustical measurement and analysis including the software RÉFLEX used in the acoustical design of auditoria, theaters, amphitheaters concert halls and classrooms. RÉFLEX is a powerful tool which allows analyzing and modifying the geometry of any room modelled in three dimensions using AUTOCAD versions 10 and later. MJM has also purchased the software licenses for the acoustical programs CADNA/A, ODÉON and INSUL.

READ MORE

34

YEARS OF EXPERIENCE

2500

Projects completed

20+

Research publications

What sets us apart

MJM provides clear recommendations which can be easily put into place using commonly available materials often distributed by a large number of suppliers. Our recommendations are based on the technical knowledge acquired during our 33 years of existence, through measurements in laboratory or in situ and through many research projects and scientific studies carried out on behalf of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) in the laboratories of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) and in the Domtar Acoustical Laboratory leased and operated by MJM on an exclusive basis from 1992 to 2008. MJM research reports have been distributed all over the world, more specifically in United States, Japan, Europe, and Australia: they are available to the public on our web site and can be downloaded free of charge.

Sharing with the public and the scientific community the knowledge acquired by MJM through research projects dedicated to acoustics and noise control is what sets us apart from the other acoustical consulting firms. Amongst other things, it led to the creation of the new ASTM E 2964-14 standard for the measurement of the sound isolation provided by doors: the measurement method outlined in the standard was developed by MJM in 1991 in the course of a research project subsidized by the CMHC. It is also a testimony to our rigor, objectivity, and integrity as well as a commitment to provide uncompromised professional services to our clients.

Integrity and Independence

MJM dedicates 100% of its resources to acoustical consulting and noise control and is totally independent of any supplier or manufacturer of acoustical materials and vibration isolators. This ensures our clients that they benefit from the highest quality consultation and that their interests are not in conflict with our own.

REALIZED BY MJM

Featured Projects

Centre Bell

AUDITORIUM | MARCH 1996

Complete acoustical and noise control services for this 21,000 seats amphitheater…

READ MORE

CHUM Research Center

INSTITUTIONAL | 2009-2015

Comprehensive acoustics and noise control services for this 480M$ building…

READ MORE

Prével Condos

CONDOMINIUMS | 1998-Present

With more than 10,000 housing units built during its thirty years of existence, PRÉVEL has …

READ MORE

Qui sommes nous?

MJM CONSEILLERS EN ACOUSTIQUE INC. a été fondé au printemps 1984 par l'architecte Michel Morin, qui possède 38 ans d'expérience en pratique privée, dans le domaine de la consultation en acoustique et en contrôle du bruit et des vibrations. En s’en portant acquéreur le premier décembre 2016, M. Nicolas Lévêque, ingénieur chez MJM depuis 2008, est devenu président et unique actionnaire de l’entreprise et en assurera la pérennité.

MJM s'est fait connaître par le nombre et la variété des projets auxquels il a participé, par les projets de recherche en acoustique et en contrôle du bruit qu'il a menés à terme et dont les compte-rendus ont été distribués à travers le monde, ainsi que par le soutien technique qu'il procure aux industries désireuses d'améliorer la performance acoustique des biens qu'elles produisent.

MJM a développé plusieurs logiciels et applications informatisées pour la mesure, l’analyse, et le traitement de données acoustiques, dont le logiciel RÉFLEX pour la conception acoustique des auditoriums, théâtres, amphithéâtres, salles de concert et salles destinées à l’enseignement. RÉFLEX est un outil puissant qui permet d'analyser et de modifier la géométrie des salles préalablement modélisées en trois dimensions à l'aide des versions 10 et suivantes d'AUTOCAD. MJM possède aussi les licences d’utilisation des logiciels d’analyse acoustique CADNA/A, ODÉON et INSUL.

LIRE PLUS

34

ANNÉES D'EXPÉRIENCE

2500

Projets terminés

20+

Publications de recherche

Ce qui nous distingue

MJM fournit des recommandations claires qui peuvent être mises en place facilement à l'aide de matériaux courants le plus souvent disponibles chez plusieurs fournisseurs de matériaux. Nos recommandations s'appuient sur les connaissances acquises au cours des 33 années d’existence du bureau, notamment sur les mesures effectuées en laboratoire ou sur place et au cours des nombreux projets de recherche et études scientifiques que nous avons effectuées pour le compte de la Société canadienne d’Hypothèque et de Logements (SCHL), dans les laboratoires acoustiques du Conseil National de Recherche du Canada (CNRC) et au Laboratoire acoustique Domtar, qui a été loué et opéré par MJM de 1992 à 2008. Les rapports de recherche produits par MJM ont été distribués partout dans le monde, plus particulièrement aux États-Unis, au Japon, en Europe, et en Australie: ils sont tous disponibles sur notre site internet et sont offerts gratuitement au public qui peut les télécharger librement.

Le partage, avec la communauté scientifique et avec le public en général, des connaissances acquises par MJM est ce qui nous distingue des autres bureaux- conseils en acoustique. C’est entre autres ce qui a permis l’élaboration de la norme ASTM E 2964-14, pour le mesurage de la performance acoustique des portes: la méthode de mesure qu’on y retrouve a en effet été développée au cours d’un projet de recherche effectué par MJM en 1991, subventionné par la SCHL. C’est aussi pour nos clients un gage de rigueur d’objectivité et d’honnêteté ainsi qu’un engagement à leur fournir des services professionnels de la plus haute qualité.

Intégrité et indépendance

MJM consacre 100% de ses ressources au conseil acoustique et au contrôle du bruit et est totalement indépendant de tout fournisseur ou fabricant de matériaux acoustiques et d'isolateurs de vibrations. Cela garantit à nos clients qu'ils bénéficient d'une consultation de la plus haute qualité et que leurs intérêts ne sont pas en conflit avec les nôtres.

RÉALISÉ PAR MJM

Projets en vedette

Centre Bell

AUDITORIUM | MARS 1996

Services complets de contrôle acoustique et acoustique de cet amphithéâtre de 21 000 places…

LIRE PLUS

Centre de recherche du CHUM

INSTITUTIONNEL | 2009-2015

Services complets d'acoustique et de contrôle du bruit pour ce bâtiment de 480 M $…

LIRE PLUS

Condos Prével

CONDOMINIUMS | 1998-Présent

Avec plus de 10 000 logements construits en trente ans d'existence, PRÉVEL a…

LIRE PLUS